Follow Us:

Eligibility & Age

Home About CSE Eligibility & Age

Quick Contact

Eligibility Criteria For UPSC Exam

The person who is applying for IAS exam must meet the IAS eligibility criteria prescribed by the Commission. Age requirement for IAS/UPSC/Civil Service eligibility has been reformed from 2015.

Age Criteria for UPSC aspirants

  • The minimum age required for UPSC Exam is 21 years
  • For General category aspirants, upper age limit is 32 years with a maximum of 6 attempts.
  • For OBC aspirants, upper age limit is 35 years with a maximum of 9 attempts.
  • For SC/ST aspirants, upper age limit is 37 and the number of attempts is up to the age limit.
  • Candidates from J&K domicile, upper age limits are 37 years, 40 years, 42 years and 50 years for GC, SC/ST, OBC and physical handicapped respectively and upper age limit is same as stated above for specific categories.
  • For disabled servicemen, upper age limit 35 years, 38 years and 40 years respectively for GC, OBC, SC/ST respectively and upper age limit is same as stated above for specific categories.
  • For physically disabled candidates, upper age limit is 35, 38 and 40 for General category, OBC and SC/ST respectively with the number of attempts being 9 for General category and OBC candidates; for SC/ST up to age limit.

Educational qualification

  • The candidate must hold a degree from Government recognized Universities or possess an equivalent qualification.
  • Candidates who are in their final year or awaiting results are also eligible to appear for UPSC preliminary Examination.
  • Candidates having professional and technical qualifications recognized by the Government as equivalent to professional and technical degrees.
  • Medical students who have passed final year of MBBS, but are yet to complete their internship also have eligibility for IAS. Although, along with the Main Examination application, a certificate of course completion (including internship) from the concerned authority of the University/Institution has to be submitted.

Other Eligibility Criteria

For recruitment as an I.A.S or I.P.S officer, candidate must be a citizen of India. Apart from I.A.S or I.P.S services, candidate must be any of the following:

  • a citizen of India
  • a subject of Nepal
  • a subject of Bhutan
  • a refugee from Tibet who came to India with intention of permanently settling before January 01, 1962 or a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India provided that a candidate belonging to categories Nepal, Bhutan, Tibetan refuge and other Indian origin candidates from countries mentioned above shall be given a certificate of eligibility issued by the Government of India.

Note: Candidate who is a subject of Nepal, Bhutan or is a Tibetan refugee will not be considered eligible for appointment to Indian Foreign Services. Also, candidates who need to produce certificate of eligibility will be admitted to the IAS Exam but appointment will be given after submission of certificates issued by Government of India.